X

California Malpractice Rates

California Malpractice Premiums for Full Time Employed Registered Nurses

Californians enjoy one of the most stable malpractice climates in the country thanks for a 1975 law called MICRA (Medical Injury Compensation Reform Act). However, even with these reforms nurses can be help jointly and severally liable for malpractice events – meaning they should be concerned about getting drawn into lawsuits targeting their employers or coworkers. California requires malpractice claims to be brought within one year of the negligent act being discovered but no more than three years from the date of injury. There are two important exceptions, the first being that if the injured patient was under six the case must be brought within three years or by the child’s eighth birthday, whichever is longer. The second concerns retained foreign objects left during surgery, the three year cap does not apply and the patient has one year from discovering the object.

$1,000,000/$6,000,000 Limit

$99

$100

$98

$106

Information believed to be correct at time of posting, contact us with any errors. Logos are the property of the respective companies.